DJIA28015.99
LIVE11.10(0.04%)
NDX8289.38
LIVE-26.14(-0.31%)

Oil Prices Set for Weekly Gain as Middle East Tensions Outweigh Economic Concerns


Friday, 26 July 2019 19:12 WIB

MinyakWTIBrent


c_740_198_16777215_00_images_assets_OIL2_globaloil.jpg

Oil prices were on track for weekly gains as Middle East tensions supported prices while traders waited for the latest reading on U.S. economic growth amid hopes that central banks would tackle any weakness.

New York-traded West Texas Intermediate crude futures gained 40 cents, or 0.7%, to $56.42 a barrel by 7:42 AM ET (11:42 GMT), while Brent crude futures, the benchmark for oil prices outside the U.S., rose 34 cents, or 0.5%, to $63.73.

U.S crude was on track for weekly gains of 1.2%, while Brent was up 2.0% from a week ago.

Tensions remain escalated in the Strait of Hormuz, a key gateway for global oil shipping, in the aftermath of Iran’s seizure of a British-flagged tanker last week. Tehran has still refused to release the vessel.

Oil has been supported by the potential threat of military action that could impact supply.

Concerns over a global slowdown that could negatively impact demand for oil have limited gains in crude.

The U.S. will release the advanced reading of second-quarter gross domestic product at 8:30 AM ET (12:30 GMT) amid expectations that growth will drop to its slowest pace in more than two years.

Source : Investing.com


RELATED NEWS

POPULAR NEWS

DISCLAIMER

Seluruh materi atau konten yang tersaji di dalam website ini hanya bersifat informatif saja, dan tidak dimaksudkan sebagai pegangan serta keputusan dalam investasi atau jenis transaksi lainnya. Kami tidak bertanggung jawab atas segala akibat yang timbul dari penyajian konten tersebut. Semua pihak yang mengunjungi website ini harus membaca Terms of Service (Syarat dan Ketentuan Layanan) terlebih dahulu dan dihimbau untuk melakukan analisis secara independen serta memperoleh saran dari para ahli dibidangnya.