DJIA27974.50
LIVE64.15(0.23%)
NDX8403.64
LIVE1.03(0.01%)

U.S. Dollar Weak As China Signals Openness to Trade Deal


Wednesday, 9 October 2019 23:15 WIB

DOLLAR Indeks DolarDolar AS


c_740_198_16777215_00_images_assets_CURRENCY2_5876d8bfe5379546291941.jpg

The U.S. dollar was weak despite reports that China is open to a partial trade deal despite the U.S. blacklisting Chinese firms earlier in the week, as traders await the Federal Reserve latest meeting minutes for clues on the direction of interest rates.

The U.S. dollar index, which measures the greenback's strength against a basket of six major currencies, was down 0.1% to 98.762 as of 11:03 AM ET (15:03 GMT). Investors were also waiting for the minutes from the Federal Reserve’s latest policy meeting at 2:00 PM ET (18:00 GMT) for clues on whether or not the central bank will cut rates.

China is willing to accept a trade deal, Bloomberg reported, and has even offered to increase how many soybeans it buys from American farmers as a measure of goodwill before trade talks. Chinese Vice Premier Liu He is due to arrive this week in Washington for trade talks and is expected to meet U.S. Trade Representative Robert Lighthizer and Treasury Secretary Steven Mnuchin on Thursday.

Source : Investing.com


RELATED NEWS

POPULAR NEWS

DISCLAIMER

Seluruh materi atau konten yang tersaji di dalam website ini hanya bersifat informatif saja, dan tidak dimaksudkan sebagai pegangan serta keputusan dalam investasi atau jenis transaksi lainnya. Kami tidak bertanggung jawab atas segala akibat yang timbul dari penyajian konten tersebut. Semua pihak yang mengunjungi website ini harus membaca Terms of Service (Syarat dan Ketentuan Layanan) terlebih dahulu dan dihimbau untuk melakukan analisis secara independen serta memperoleh saran dari para ahli dibidangnya.