DJIA28533.15
LIVE-456.58(-1.57%)
NDX8952.18
LIVE-189.29(-2.07%)

Yen near 7-Month Highs as Rising Geopolitical Risks Rattle Investors


Tuesday, 13 August 2019 15:23 WIB

DOLLARCurrency Yen


c_740_198_16777215_00_images_assets_CURRENCY_11YenBN-NY502_yenher_P_20160510041148.jpg

The safe haven yen was trading near seven-month highs against the U.S. dollar on Tuesday as investor sentiment was shaken by a currency crisis in Argentina, unrest in Hong Kong and growing indications that trade tensions are hitting global growth.

The yen was at 105.27 per dollar by 03:23 AM ET (07:23 GMT) after brushing 105.58 overnight, its strongest since Jan. 3.

The Japanese currency, which attracts flight-to-safety flows in times of market stress, has strengthened this month amid increasing signs that the U.S. and China will not reach a quick resolution in their year-long trade war and the prospect of further monetary easing by the U.S. Federal Reserve.

The euro was weaker against the dollar, down 0.2% at 1.1188, handing back the previous day's modest gains.

Source : Investing.com


RELATED NEWS

  • The Japanese yen is in demand Monday as traders flock to the safe haven currency amid concerns over the spread of the pneumonia-like virus in China. At 03:20 ET (0820 GMT), the USD/JPY dropped 0.2% t...

POPULAR NEWS

DISCLAIMER

Seluruh materi atau konten yang tersaji di dalam website ini hanya bersifat informatif saja, dan tidak dimaksudkan sebagai pegangan serta keputusan dalam investasi atau jenis transaksi lainnya. Kami tidak bertanggung jawab atas segala akibat yang timbul dari penyajian konten tersebut. Semua pihak yang mengunjungi website ini harus membaca Terms of Service (Syarat dan Ketentuan Layanan) terlebih dahulu dan dihimbau untuk melakukan analisis secara independen serta memperoleh saran dari para ahli dibidangnya.